Serendipity

I had some really bad luck today which is going to affect my weekend. Exam prep for Monday has been put on hold thanks to a major IT issue. I’ll say no more but sadly I’ll have to work when I wanted to get my headspace into a zen like, pre-exam calmness.

I spent 3 hours in an IT department today. A very nice guy fetched me a drink and after a couple of hours he checked if id eaten (I hadn’t) so I was invited to grab some food whilst they fettled with my laptop. I decided to eat a sandwich outside the cathedral- there had just been a downpour and I saw the gargoyles spiting out tons of water from the roof. A rainbow appeared and things felt more lovely.

Inside the cathedral was this amazing installation. It’s a touring exhibit so I’m not sure how long Gloucester will have it. It was rather beautiful and the lighting was very quirky. The sound that accompanied it (old, crackly recordings of moon exploration communications) added to the atmosphere. The artist is Luke Jerram and the installation celebrates the 50th anniversary of the moon landing. The exhibition runs at Gloucester cathedral from 16th Oct to 4th Nov

On the way home I got caught in a very heavy going hailstorm plus a spectacular thunder storm (bit scary initially as I was at the top of a multi story car park when it started). The big flash of light seemed to be rather close to my car!

Looking forward to the conclusion of ‘The Circle’ on channel 4 tonight, it’s been a fascinating series. I’m really hoping that the catfish doesn’t win. Although I understand that cat fishing is a good tactic and that the whole thing is a strategy game to win money, I feel that last year’s catfish deserved the win as he was humble and came across as a nice bloke who sometimes had an internal struggle with the cat fishing role. This year’s remaining catfish is a bit too self- congratulatory and doesn’t seem to have many concerns about not being kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.