Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Eyes of the Beast

My D850 was returned yesterday afternoon, after being with Nikon for more than a month.  I took the opportunity to take it out for a test this afternoon, visiting the area with the deer.

I'd come across a couple of riders, including a gentleman resplendent in Stetson hat and western saddle and bridle.  they pointed me towards the deer, including the monarch stag from previous pictures.  I was told they were really close to the track, lying in a neighbouring field.  I dutifully headed over to the location, only to realise that their elevated position on the horse gave them an unobstructed view over the hedge that ran alongside the track!  Even on tiptoes I was struggling to get a shot.

I decided to walk on to see if there was any other vantage point, or means of getting closer.  Thankfully my efforts hadn't spooked the deer, who seemed quite content, safe behind the hedge.  I came across a hind with her young grazing on winter crops, but they soon beat a retreat when I came into view.

I took one more sweep past the stag, only for him to stand up and try to stare me out.  It gave me just enough height to line him up in the sights of the lens.

The camera passed the photographic tests, but frustratingly now seems to be exhibiting a new issue, with some of the numbers in the viewfinder brighter than the others.  I've sent off an email to Nikon but am already frustrated at the thought of having to return it to them and being without it for another month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.