The loneliness of the long distance commuter

After the whirl of a busy day at work and feeling as though I was abandoning my colleagues just as the monthly tea dance was about to start), I am speeding south, to Sussex, for a brief visit to see Mum, Dad, my brother, sister and then Sarah.

It's been a very straightforward journey but always a shock after my quiet rural existence to be catapulted into very close contact with so many people all in one place at one time. (Yes, Euston, I'm talking about you...). I had a nice chat with the woman next to me from Carlisle to Wigan, but otherwise all my fellow travellers have been very separate. The man next to me now is shovelling in a very nice looking salad with a wooden fork while watching something on his laptop.

I've read a lot of the book which I bought in Oxfam yesterday - "Milkman" by Anna Burns which won last year's Booker prize. It's a pretty chilling account of the Troubles in the 70s. A reminder of why there is so much fuss about the customs border between the UK and Ireland.

Another hour and I'll be in Uckfield. Have a lovely weekend, Blippers :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.