One day in Newcastle

It was pouring with rain this morning. We took our time to read the newspaper and make our plans for the day.
When the rain was slightly less we walked to the metro station to get to Newcastle where we started at the castle. It's a lovely small castle from the outside, but the many stairs make it look much larger on the inside.
Then we went to Betsie Surtees House near the river. The interior is unique with all the wooden panels and the carfed ceiling. There was a tiny exposition about the fact that homelessness is a timeless phenomenon. I couldn't understand the link to Bestie Surtee.

At the end of our educational visits we finally went shopping. We never do, you know, probably because we think we don't need to. After my experience today, I think it is because we don't know how we should approach it. After a coffee inside Grainger Market, we went into John Lewis and looked at the price tags. Next shop was Mark's and Spencer. Bert wanted to go through the entire shop in a structured way. I wouldn't have been surprised if he had searched for a map. Then there was Primark's.
Finally I found a lumberjack blouse in Fenwick's. I'm pretty sure I didn't have to travel all the way to Newcastle to buy a lumberjack blouse, but buying clothes is quite a difficult task.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.