Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Ritual

The toddlers were a wonderful tonic for me today. I spent an hour or so this morning hanging out with them. I watched them dance, read them stories, doled out lap time between five of them. I am much in demand when I make an appearance, and for some reason they find me highly entertaining.

But it was me who was entertained today, or at least distracted from the difficult task of writing Dad's obituary. Difficult, but sweet reminiscing.

The photo is the lunch table ritual -- there are five toddlers and two adults today. First they all breathe together and hold hands, each in their own way, then recite:

Thank you for this food, this food
This glorious, glorious food
And the animals, and the vegetables, and the minerals,
And the loving hands that made it possible


And at this point, by "recite" I mean a couple of the toddlers catch a word every once in a while and Laurie and Katie keep the cadence going. By the end of their three years here, they'll get most of it. It's a lovely, calming ritual. After lunch, everyone goes in the nap room for quiet rest.

Here's a slideshow of more of the morning activities. They were dancing up a storm, among other things.

Thank you all for your loving comments yesterday on my Dad's passing. I felt like I had a hug from each of you, and it was - is - very comforting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.