Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

January roses?

A friend of mine wrote a song called October Roses:

Spring roses are lovely, they make my heart sing
And in summer the roses sweet memories bring
But I most need the rose when the bitter winds call
October roses are the fairest of all


I wonder what she'd write about January roses. There is much seasonal confusion amongst our flora and fauna here in the Pacific Northwest, U.S. I saw rhododendrons blooming last week - they don't usually bloom until April or May. Song sparrows are chirping away each morning, a sound I don't ever recall hearing this early in the year. We rarely get snow here anymore, which is a great disappointment to kids (and to some adults, like me). When we do get a dusting of snow, it becomes such a media event you'd think it was a catastrophic incident.

Where will all this climate change lead us? I think we'd better find ways to adapt, and soon - I fear reversal is too late. We are already seeing adverse effects over the globe, mostly in developing countries - they always bear the brunt of our mistakes (or greed or stupidity). When it starts adversely affecting people with money and power we will see change - and probably not the good kind.

Ah yes, roses are so cheery, aren't they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.