CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Nogales, from the local reservoir's dam

Graham and Barbara took me on a jaunt to visit a dammed valley which had become a reservoir near to the hill top village of Nogales. It was a lovely drive along the edge of the hills with open farm land to the east and the rolling hills covered with varied trees. Animals grazed in small herds or on smallholdings with occasional including cows, goats and sheep but particularly pigs and countless piglets. Ham is a key product locally.

The reservoir was quite low and not quite how they remembered it from a visit some years ago. We may have arrived at a different part of it. We walked down to the edge of the very murky green water, which surprisingly seemed filled with large carp floating up and down to the surface. Barbara lead the way to the the dam whose gate was open and we walked about a hundred yards along it. 

I was rather distracted with taking pictures around the lake, but at lunchtime the light was rather harsh, especially when I looked up to the source of the water lying between the surrounding hills. I did see a cormorant and a white egret flying close to the water's edge, and then just caught the blue flash of a kingfisher as it flew towards the dam.

Looking in the opposite direction we heard the sound of bells on animals grazing on the hillside, and spotted a herd of cows. You might be able to spot two white cattle on the near hillside with the village of Nogales in the distance. Before long we headed there and parking near the castle we stood admiring the landscape and the well maintained ruins

But before long we headed to the village square and there I enjoyed my last beer in the open air as this was my last full day staying in Extremadura. I've had a great time and been royally looked after and feel much better in my body, although not managing as much walking as I possibly should have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.