CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Looking down on Feria from the castillo

After breakfast this morning Graham drove me up to the castillo on the summit of the hill on which the village of Feria is sited. You can see the castillo for many miles around and from several of my recent blips.

We walked around the battlements and I started to take a variety of picture of the varied views in all directions. Within a couple of minutes Graham pointed to the sky as several large birds appeared which within minutes were circling on thermals over our heads. It turned out that these few were the precursor to hundreds of similar flocks.

Over the next hour we watched as they approached at various heights, some quite close to us, others high in the sky. I wasn't sure at first what they were ; only that they were all raptors. When I got back to the house and could look more closely and then compare them images on birding websites was I sure that they were vultures!

My last picture of the day was pointing in the opposite direction to this view looking south-east over the town. I had noticed a huge flock in the distance and have now counted more than fifty vultures in one group circling about a mile away.

Graham and Barbara's house is on the main street to the left of the village church. I expect if you look at my earlier blips you can work out where I am staying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.