Life In Wales

By KarenC

The Rut

Kate and I went to Petworth deer park this morning in the hope of seeing the rut, while the hubbies went off to the Caravan an Motorhome Show at the NEC in Birmingham - they had a great time and luckily didn’t buy anything.

We had a fabulous day, the sun shone and the deer performed, in more ways than one!  We sat on a tree trunk and had our picnic listening to the sound of the rut which is amazing, and the sun was so warm that I even had to take my coat off!   After a good few hours of watching them, we wandered back towards the house and we sat in the sun and had a hot chocolate before heading home.

Once back, I took the boys out for a walk, cooked a Thai green curry and then at 6pm went to meet Louise and Marianna as we were going to the Seaford bonfire parade.  Bonfire parades are a big tradition in Sussex and I've blipped them before - people parade through the streets dressed as smugglers and pirates carrying burning torches while drummers play.  They finally headed to the Martello field where there was a big bonfire and firework display.

It's been a great day and night, I've walked over 19,000 steps and taken about 800 photos in total - 200 tonight and the rest were at the deer park.  I've managed to cut them down considerably though, and my blip today had to be of this magnificent stag bellowing.

Thanks Kate for driving and for being great company as usual! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.