Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Shreds and Patches

To Hawick today for bulbs - there seems to have been some sort of mass suicide of the lights. I left TM at Screwfix, his happy place, and went for a wander with the camera. 

There's plenty of dereliction in Hawick, alas. Old textile mills, mostly. Many of them were fine buildings in their day.  I like the patchwork effect on this door, The lower half was obscured by wheelie bins and parked cars :-(

We had arranged to meet at Tower Mill (one that has been rescued and turned into an auditorium and cafe), but I had a little time in hand so I walked round the back to see if the heron was fishing in the pools above the mill race (and he was, but cunningly standing under the bridge so no chance of a shot).  The river was running very fast, and to my delight I saw a fairly sizeable salmon leaping up the fall. I've never seen that before. In all I must have seen a dozen, but none of the rest were of any great size. One was caught in the force of the water and seemed to hover in the spray. Wonderful!

We had a celebratory coffee in the cafe - all profits go to community projects so we had a moral duty to have cake too. 

We unwittingly sat down at the 'Chatter and Natter' table - in the extra. I've never heard of this, but it seems like a good idea.  I guess we didn't look as if we needed company, no-one offered to join us. Or maybe there was another reason :-)

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting  Derelict Sunday , always a very interesting challenge.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.