A day in the life

By Shelling

Mission accomplished

Back home after a long day of packing instruments, driving, unpacking, soundchecking and, finally, concerting. Then the same in reverse.

Most musicians I know play in several constellations -and doing solo concerts. So do I. I am involved in a Leonard Cohen project, playing his songs translated into Swedish.There are five of us in the group, two singers, a violinist, a keyboardplayer and myself on guitars. So far we have played about twenty five concerts over the years, tonight we were booked for yet another one in Lessebo, a small community ninety km inland from Kalmar. 

The parish had organized a "Cohen service" called "Halleluja" after one of his songs. The church was nearly full, around 250 people, the priest and the cantor had organised the service very well with readings from Cohens book of grace, reflecting around the word silence and so on. They helped creating a very friendly, relaxed atmosphere where many was very moved.
I was so into what I was doing today that I completely forgot to take a single photo, which is unusual. My three instruments in use will have to symbolise the days work.

On Wednesday I'm accompanying a friend who is singing one or two songs in Arabian, in November I'm doing a solo concert, playing classical guitar music and singing a few songs. Later in November I perform a music-poetry program for senior citizens together with a friend. I find my life to be rather varied at the moment and I get to bring joy to a lot of people. 
I'm so grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.