snailspace

By snailspace

Stick of it

I know. I know. What can I say though? Life's just hitting me hard right now and spirits are low. I'll be back and I will do the backblips but right now - disinterest rules and the camera is staying firmly in its case.

An exception today.

These things have probably all but died out now, what with Central Heating removing the need, not to mention the Internet replacing the newspapers. It has been many years since I myself purchased a physical newspaper but luckily today, when we ran out of firelighters (no CH here), I had some free local papers on hand.

I spent many hours making these when I was a child: paper sticks for fire-lighting.

In fact today seems to have been a complete throwback to earlier, more thrifty years. Not only have I been fashioning firelighters but also I was to be found pegging out plastic bags on the washing line. I loathe  use-once-and-throw-away where plastics are concerned and so I reuse them until they fall apart.

The weather may be chilly and damp but I shall still be hanging out the washing when the machine finishes. Whatever little drying I can get done outside will save a little electricity if I have to deploy the tumble drier. I hate using a tumble drier so rarely do I make use of one. In fact when I had to use it last week.... I had no idea how to work it!

Yorkshire Thrift. Hard to shake off but sometimes extremely useful. Something positive to consider in these depressing days and something to write about that has nothing to do with Politics. So I unearthed the camera and came home to Blipfoto.

It's going to be a busy few days ahead of me so I  may well go AWOL again. Hope to have some interesting photos thereafter. And in the meantime, I will try to get the Italy etc. pics up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.