stujphoto

By stujphoto

Night Driving

I had another go yesterday evening at capturing images of night time driving with my camera set up in my car between the drivers and passenger seats. The first obstacle you encounter is how to set up your tripod in your car. Fortunately I have a tripod whose leg angle can be altered easily. I ended up with one leg fully extended into the glove compartment pocket, one on the floor beghind the driver's seat and one jammed between the seat and upright of the rear seat. I don't think this was ideal as the car interior on my images was not as pin sharp as on my previous attempt so there must have been too much flexibility in the system. However, it is a bit of an ask, expecting stability when your are driving over Edinburgh cobbles.

As before the the light trails of other cars when I was moving were more like zigzags than smooth trails so the only shots which were usable are the one where I was stationary at road junctions. Still I do quite like them as they really capture the atmosphere of night driving in ther city. The blip I have chosen was taken at the junction of London Road and Montrose Terrace in Edinburgh. Pleas excusee my dirty windscreen !!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.