stujphoto

By stujphoto

Perilous Perch

My very first water droplet blip and as a bit of celebration I used the white balance control to introduce a magenta cast. It is not actually my first attempt I did have a go using natural light but the syringe I was using did not give me suffient control over droplet delivery so I did not really get a pin sharp droplet.

This attempt was using off-camera strobe flash which is better for ensuring you do not get motion blur but still requires you to get the droplet to fall in a very narrow target zone having set the camera to manual focus with a very wide aperture. I had a bit more control of the number and rate of droplets using a rubber dropper but was still aiming for the target zone manually.

This will be the main area for improvement in the future, creating some sort of framework to hold the dropper in place. I am still a long way off creating those beautiful droplet clashes which greate corona style effects. My success rate was maybe 1 in 30 shots. I could not not have dreamed about doing this in the days of film. Markus Reugels can sleep easy in his bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.