Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace Day 4 - Lawton Treble Locks

As we have no access to hot water for showering on our boat this trip, I thought it was time I went for a shower and hair-wash at the nearby C & RT facilities. Canal users have a special key to enter these premises however, once in the building I found that the shower room door was so swollen I couldn't properly close it, let alone lock it. I had to make a descision. Any of the other boaters could have come in but my hair was a mess, I had to risk it. 

Our next adventure was getting through the mile and a half Harecastle tunnel. Kat had asked if she could steer through it, a painstaking task with only a half metre either side of the 59' boat being steered from the back as narrow boats are. I've but her pic in the Extras. The headroom bar is to warn boaters how low the ceiling is in places. You really have to croach down whilst steering.

It was somewhere near these locks I had to help a large, elderly gentleman out of the water. The canals are only about 4' deep but getting out of the straight sides is difficult.

Our member, Frank, came on board in the evening to fix our water pump so we ended the day with running water, hot and cold. Back home work in the lodge immersion heater is still on-going for our visitors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.