Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Accrington.

I was not well pleased to discover a return rail ticket from Rishton to Accrington has gone up by 10p and now costs £2.20. What is the world coming to?
It is far worse for those who regularly travel much further to work, so my sympathises.
Weather sudden very cold again but dry.
The neighbours say it could be snowing next week.
Heaven help us! What fun for the grandsons.
The blip shows two photos of the Accrington Victorian Arcade, dating to around 1897. It used to house the Post Office.
It has some beautiful stained glass as shown top right.
The arcade is used these days by a few independent retailers , who rent the shop units.
There is a cafe, dress-maker and clothes repairer, childrens' clothing and toys, and dinning furniture.
The blip below these pictures, is of a sweet little dog, who looked up at me as I was walking near the Post Office. He needed his coat today.
I spent some time at the One Planet shop, chatting to Kerry and Sharon and pricing up the new products.
I bought some Revitalise Pukka tea and some local honey.
In town I went to Wilkinsons for a new green plastic bird cake holder.
This one is especially for robins and contains meal worms, which they enjoy in the Winter. Arthur watched me put it up in the garden, his beady eyes completely fascinated. He likes his prawns and chicken, but loves bird watching!
I am glad to be home now and enjoying Escape to the Country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.