Shaggy Parasol

After a very late sleep in and a leisurely morning, Basil and I set off for Bradgate Park once more, this time from the Hallgates car park by Cropston Reservoir.

Young stags were resting on the green sward and were still there when we walked back. They have the sense to know it's not a good idea to challenge the big stags.

I took a path which led behind the wall enabling me to let Basil off his lead. He thoroughly enjoyed being let loose.  We continued walking on the contour passing through small coppices of sweet chestnut and oak and out on to the hill side, a path we haven't taken before. 

No viable deer photos today, although there was a lot of roaring coming from The Sanctuary, but I was lucky to find fungi this time. This shaggy parasol in the shade of an oak tree and fly agaric by the reservoir wall, along with a big puffball. See extras.

Others have told me that the rut hasn't really begun. Today's roaring might indicate that things have changed.

Choir rehearsal tonight. I do get weary driving in and out of Leicester. I also need to keep coming back to Bradgate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.