DAY ONE: Annapolis, Maryland

Dear Diary,

Very easy drive into Logan and easy flight to DC. My hosts, Kay and Rick, took me to Annapolis, Maryland for lunch and a stroll around that beautiful and historic city. (My mom visited on her senior class trip in 1939 and I have a few of the photos she took!) This is the ship Lynx which was built in Rockport, Maine in 2001 and is touring the coast. It does education programs for kids about the history of sailing ships in America and also the War of 1812. Coming from a long line of shipbuilders and sea captains, I loved touring the boat. Kay and Rick are old sea salts themselves, spending many years under sail cruising from Maine to the Caribbean before coming to shore to live on the Chesapeake Bay in Maryland. The young men are ship hands. Off to DC this morning to see the Museum of African-America History and Culture! Extra is Henry serenading us as we all enjoyed a class of wine before dinner.

My response to your comments may be a wee bit sparse the next few days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.