DIA

DIA - otherwise known as Denver International Airport.

It’s about 530pm and we’re getting ready to leave for London. It’s been a cool and rainy day, but the sky tonight looks lovely over the airport. While everyone in England is hopefully fast asleep in bed - 130am (and I WISH I was!!) - we are starting a night of work!

The bridge on the left is high enough to let planes taxi underneath it. The peaks on the right are over the main terminal. I’m not sure if they’re supposed to represent Indian teepees or Colorado’s snow-capped mountains. But I do love them either way!

This is the ‘new’ airport - but it’s already over 25 years old. When I was based in Denver almost 30 years ago I flew out of the older airport - Stapleton - now a housing and shopping area with only the control tower still standing - it’s a restaurant, I believe. I must go there one day. Sometimes I forget and find myself calling the new airport Stapleton. It always solicits lots of laughs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.