Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1826. What is a dog?

Firstly can I say thank you to everyone who commented and left stars and so many hearts on my 5 year Blipday yesterday...I was so overwhelmed with all of your nice comments...and I even made the first page of the popular images, which doesn't  happen very often to me!

So here we go with a new folder on my hard drive...for 1826 - 2191.....

And what better image to start with than this wonderful book by a dear, dear friend who many of you know as Subjunctive, a former Blipper.

Those of you who follow my journal will probably know that she started a Kickstarter campaign recently and far exceeded her initial target so that she was able to produce these books herself.  And in very typical Paula-style for every book she has sent out to her sponsors, she has also sent a book out to a programme in Canada called "Books with Wings" ( http://www.books-with-wings.org )which provides books for First Nation children living in remote communities and it is a wonderful charity and well worth supporting.  I not only received my copy of her book as part of the sponsorship, but also an additional two copies, one for my grandson, Arron and one for his nursery school.  The books came with this chap, Sock Dog, a companion for Sock Monkey which was sent to me for Arron not long after he was born.  I'm keeping Sock Dog to make sure that he's always available to help me read her book to any children I come across.  The book is beautifully illustrated and her words are perfect for young children and I know it is her intention to try and get it formally published with a publishing company.  I'm sure it will be a huge hit as it is truly a work of art.
The part that brought tears to my eyes was the acknowledgements page, which listed my name and also hubby's but also our beloved Black Labrador, Frodo Baggins....and the best part was that even Arron got a mention for being a test subject when she sent me her first draft!
So here it is along with Sock Dog, who has to be called Frodo (even though he's not black...I'm sure Baggins wouldn't mind....)
I hope that it is the first of many such children's books as Paula has an amazing talent for these and I cannot imagine any child (or indeed adult!) who wouldn't be entranced by it...thank you my dear friend...

There was one more thing in the parcel which I will Blip tomorrow....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.