Plus ça change...

By SooB

Eight, sheesh

In a sudden panic yesterday I realised that today, Conor's 8th birthday, is sort of the last 'little kid' birthday I'll organise. Hence the rush to buy balloons, candles, sparklers, etc. These are the lemony cakes from yesterday. Conor had a huge chocolate cake at school, and will probably have another on Saturday, so this is not really the cop-out it looks.

I think he had a lovely birthday. A veritable heap of presents waiting for him on his chair this morning - every one obviously chosen with care (except my last minute purchases yesterday) and opened with delight. He is currently immersed in his new Wii game, having spent the earlier part of the evening similarly immersed in a very complicated lego construction. So there's balance for you. He also managed to open a bottle of fizz all by himself with no mess and no fuss. Mr B was hugely proud! Dinner was his favourite: venison steak with chips.... along with side orders of mashed potato and pasta (there would have been rice too but, unaccountably, we were out of it). Plus one green bean and three peas. CarbBoy was, needless to say, delighted.

In other happenings, back into English lessons at the school with one on the months of the year that went surprisingly well for such a dry subject. Enlivened of course by a precocious 8 year old explaining to all the 6 year olds about "kissing on the mouth and putting your tongue in" during a brief discussion on Valentines Day. Hmmm. I have to put together a list of the subjects already covered in case the school inspectors ask to see it - but I have a hole of 3 Thursdays where I have no idea what I did. And I didn't blip those days. Eek. Will have to invent something plausible sounding that has nothing to do with kissing; French or otherwise. The kids have asked if they can do lessons on 'English' culture. Of course the first lesson will be on what the UK is... and I will be doing this the day before Burns Night giving me an 'in' into Scottishness. So I just need to work on the other parts of the Union...

Anyway, today is of course all about CarbBoy. Happy Birthday Pet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.