A bedraggled Great Spotted Woodpecker

It was an emergency blip sort of day. The rain came and went and then got steadily harder as the wind speed increased. I realised that a market tomorrow, given the even worse weather conditions that are predicted, would be  impossible, so I cancelled my stall in Nailsworth.

I was quite tired and once I got home from taking Helena to her stall, I just made coffee and watched American cable news (on MSNBC), which I have a habit of doing. Looking out of the window I saw this woodpecker land on the top branches of the dead rhus tree where it started hammering its head back and forth in the classic style. I assumed it was digging into the rotting wood looking ofr insects to eat.

I gathered my camera from downstairs and changed lens whilst hoping it didn't fly away. Unfortunately it did but then it returned from the end of the garden and flew on to this feeder. I could only take pictures through the double-glazed doors  whiklst peering over the honeysuckle bush between us.

The rain was still falling, and can just be seen in short lines. The woodpecker did manage to grab some of the sunflower seeds before it repositioned itself more comfortable which is when I too this picture. Unfortunately it couldn't then reach the food so it flew away rather swiftly, back to the rhus tree and then when I eased the door open it became disturbed and off it went back down the garden to the more open spaces of the valley beyond. It does look a bit bedraggled with very wet feathers.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.