A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Comeback kid

I know I’ve been absent for a while. Dropping in and out, with no consistency or commitment.

It’s been the strangest 5 months of my life so far. Some of it I can’t share for legal reasons. Over the next few weeks, hopefully I can share the happenings that I am able to and share how I’m moving forward.

The key takeaway for now is this - I became a statistic. One of the many thousands of committed teachers in this country that decided that enough was enough. I am no longer a teacher. My mental and physical health could no longer deal with 70 hour weeks and nothing being good enough in an underfunded system, driven by the unrealistic expectations of decision makers nationally who see young people as nothing more than targets, despite their rhetoric to the contrary.

I miss the kids and my colleagues. But I am healthier for walking away, because I absolutely was broken. Being really honest, I’ve had two episodes of suicidal thoughts in the past year and I was exhausted in the truest sense of the word. No job, no matter how much you love it, should leave you feeling that way.

So, I’m on a different path. Not sure what the future holds, but I’m more optimistic now than I was 5 months ago and I’m back in control of myself and my future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.