Tree -Time 10

Today I watched the first half of the Great Britain v Tonga Rugby League test match. It was some entertaining, bone-crunching stuff, but I had to go over to the parents, and the rest was recorded for later. GB were behind at half time and I was hoping they would cut out some of the mistakes and come back to win...

I arrived at The Folks' to find that my Dad had the aftermath of the Rah-Rah on, and against all odds England had beaten the All Blacks in their World Cup. OK... In the ad breaks they were promoting something called RugbyX. I've not seen it, but basically the ad said that all the time wasting things like line-outs were removed and the focus was on speed and skill. Erm...is that not Rugby League? Are they trying to hijack our game now?

Anyway, Brian fetched me home via my tree, since it is that day again. I saw that its leaves have changed colour and are starting to fall off now. That has happened very quickly. The weather today has been really pants - nothing but driving rain! So it is a rather damp view! I don't mind the rain actually - I find it quite relaxing so long as I'm dressed for it!

Home , and watched the rest of the game. Great Britain ended up losing and made more mistakes, which was very frustrating. They made a bit more of a contest of it than the first half but there needs to be much improvement before we face the Kiwis.

I've been to work tonight of course. More developments: The new people won't be coming until the end of January now. So I now have an extra month of no life outside work! Of course the upside is that I have an extra month of half-decent money (as far as that can be the case in a minimum wage job!)

It was an unusual night in that until 7 PM it was incredibly busy - the customers jokingly accused me of bullying Amir as I kept saying "Cook this! Cook that!" and he was running like a dog! Then from 7 until we closed at 9:30 I could count our customers on one hand. It just changed so fast.

 I'm glad the shop is closed on Sundays...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.