Andy Tang's Photo Journal

By AndyTang

Rising pressure...

About six years ago I went to the doctor and I was told my blood pressure, and like a typical man I ignored it.

Last August I watched the Michael Mosley Horizon documentary, "Eat, Fast and Live Longer" after which my wife and I decided to try intermittent fasting (aka the 5:2 diet).

This also prompted me to visit the doctor and check my blood pressure again. It was high, and over the last five months, with regular checks, especially monitoring and then a 24 hour monitoring session, it was decided that I had to go on medication... for the rest of my life!

Still having regular checks, but the medication has been increasing to try and control it.

Since being open about my blood pressure, I've discovered many of my friends, family and work colleagues are on medication. We compare numbers like train spotters swapping information amazed at each others blood pressure readings.

I find most men are in denial and a bit blasé about taking the medication, or like me six years ago, ignoring it completely.

I was asking if there are any side effects of the medication and people find it strange when I say major side effects are that I'm less likely to have a stroke or heart attack, and make me live longer! My children asked what I was doing when I was taking a blood pressure reading at home, and my reply was "to make sure I see you grow up"!

The person who it has affected the most is my wife, and I have to assure her that I'm following the doctor's advice, and that we are doing the right things to help.

If you have high blood pressure or there's a history of it in your family, get it checked out. The sooner you deal with it, the sooner you can stop worrying about it! Just spare a thought to family and friends and ensure you communicate what is going on, so they can help and support.

Good health!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.