Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Big Day

Up early for a trip to the big smoke, London.

It was my friend Rachel's birthday the other week, so I treated her to a trip to see Big the Musical at the Dominion Theatre.

We had to catch an early train though, as the dreaded bus replacement service was in operation for quite a few trains.  So when we arrived, we had time for a wander.

First visit was to Liberty, a designer department store in a beautiful old Tudor building.  I've always been fascinated by the building many times, having passed it over the years.  It lived up to expectation, and they had their Christmas shop in operation.

From one posh store to another, Fortnum & Mason, we were wondering whether they were in Christmas mode, but sadly not as yet.  But always a nice place to visit.

We then went next door to Hatchards, the UK's oldest book shop since 1797.  Well as you can imagine, I was in love.  They had some magnificent classic books and a whole section dedicated to Agatha Christie with some truly wonderful versions of her books.  I could buy all the outstanding ones that I've not read.  I need to come back for a longer visit.  Oh and Bill Nighy was shopping in there as we left.

A nice lunch in Busaba Soho, a Katsu chicken curry for me.  Very nice!

And then to the big event!  The musical based on the Tom Hanks' film from the 1980s and Big the Musical didn't disappoint, it was excellent and a great time was had by all.

The theatre must be built over the tube, because I throughout the second half we could the constant rumbles of the tube underneath.  I hadn't noticed it so much in the first half, I thought it was to do with the story around Zoltar who granted the big wish.  Lol!

A great day in London, my first and I'm sure not my last, since the transplant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.