Olives in the Wind

The weather keeps tormenting us with promises of rain, which don't come to much. Was walking back from town when our neighbour, Manuel, stopped his car to talk to me. "See", he said, pulling off an olive branch and throwing it to the ground in disgust, "olives are good at surviving drought, but they can't cope with this, the harvest will be useless!"

Everything is so dry, it's hard to imagine the ground covered in grass, let alone flowers. If we knew something was for the last time, how much more we'd appreciate it...

So I will now appreciate a simple supper with my husband, and my Kingsolver book, Unsheltered, and my comfy, warm bed - because tomorrow, having to get up before dawn to take Team to Lisbon to hopefully get their Mozambican visas...

Gratefuls:
- progress Mike (and the lads, for an hour) has made on the floor
- catching up with my youngest, not had a chance lately
- a job where we can be flexible 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.