Shinrin-yoku ...

.... which is Japanese for forest-bathing

I have taken to walking through the nearby Black Spouts regularly and more deliberately, slowing down and paying attention to details (different type of tree barks, where the moss is growing, rustles in the tree tops ....) and do find it restorative. 

I dont think such an approach needs to be confined only to woods - I find the same in the hills, on the moors, on beaches.  However there is definitely something about walking more attentively. 

Strictly speaking I shouldn't also be taking pictures but I am drawn by the idea of capturing the woods at regular intervals and capturing how they change over the course of the year.  

I also picked some nettles in order to make nettle soup - we had some when we were in France and I rather enjoyed it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.