My Neighbor Came By This AM......

Last Friday, the neighbors got together for dinner.  During that meal, I had asked my neighbor to come by and help me put up a new flag.  When I sold my home, 2 years ago, I also sold all of my power tools.  I had to down size my "stuff" because of moving into a much smaller place.   While I knew how to do the job, I didn't have the large power drill to drill concrete.    Fred came by and helped me out.....
       My Flag looks a little different from my neighbor flag hanging off of her garage.  The blue square and 13 stripes is the same.    The difference is the stars.....   My flag is a representation of the first flag of the colonies, the Betsy Ross Flag.  George Washington asked Betsy to make a flag for the American Revolution during the first winter at Valley Forge.  
      This flag has 13 stripes, for the 13 colonies during the revolutionary war.  The difference is the number of stars:   The Betsy flag has a circle of 13 stars, one for each colony.    My neighbors flag has 50 stars, one  star for each state,  as they joined the union of America.
A piece of American History...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.