Honour

This highly decorated veteran was in Chelmsford High Street today, collecting for the Royal British Legion with the traditional annual sale of poppies ahead of Remembrance day on November 11th.  We talked for a while about his medals and tours in several infamous areas of conflict. Noticing Caitlin's accent, he pointed out his Bronze Star, which I learned "is awarded to any person who, ... while serving in any capacity with the Armed Forces of the United States, distinguishes himself or herself by heroic or meritorious achievement or service...."  The Bronze Star Medal is the fourth highest ranking award given to brave or meritorious action in a combat zone.  As for his British medals, well, I got a broad smile when I asked about those....

I believe we met a hero today. 

(I did have his permission to take the photograph)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.