Pictorial blethers

By blethers

The bright field

This view, which to see you have to turn aside from the road past Knockdow House and look down through the trees, is one that I love - and one that the light can make special, just as, I discovered through the mysteries of Facebook, it was when I took exactly this view two years ago today. 

It also made me think of a favourite poem by R.S.Thomas, whose title gave me the heading for this blip:
The Bright Field
I have seen the sun break through
to illuminate a small field
for a while, and gone my way
and forgotten it. But that was the
pearl of great price, the one field that had
treasure in it. I realise now
that I must give all that I have
to possess it. Life is not hurrying

on to a receding future, nor hankering after
an imagined past. It is the turning
aside like Moses to the miracle
of the lit bush, to a brightness
that seemed as transitory as your youth
once, but is the eternity that awaits you.
(R.S.Thomas)

It fits, somehow, with my mood of yesterday, gone in the pleasure of a country walk in the midday sun.

And for anyone who notices such things, I took this with my camera rather than my phone. I felt I had the time and the weather to give it the extra attention that taking out a camera and fiddling with setting demands - and I'm rather taken with the result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.