The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Coastal path bookstall

(See yesterday's Bude bookblip).

The morning weather looked grey and blustery but, after an excellent hotel breakfast, I set off for town, calling in later at the tourist information office. A couple ahead of me were asking about a 6-mile circular walk, so I decided to buy the same map and take that journey too.

My route took me along the historic Bude canal for a mile or two, before branching off through high fields filled with hay bales or enormous Swedes (vegetables, not natives of Sweden). Eventually I reached the outskirts of Widemouth Bay. Atlantic breakers were rolling on to the sands, but it was too cold for surfing. I took the South West coastal path, very cold in the wind, but I had my winter woolies with me.

Finally, I realised I hadn't stopped for about two hours, and just then a building hove into view. I'd been told about this restaurant, so I went in for a pitstop at the bar, feeling too scruffy for the restaurant.

Restored by coffee, I went on to find this bookstall in a wheelbarrow on the actual path. Bude soon became visible again, and I headed for town via the Compass Point tower. I found the castle and the famous Sea Lock, but I'd started to feel dodgy in my stomach, so I didn't even manage to explore my the beach nearest my hotel (I now see it's very near) before I had to rush back to the safety of my room.

Fortunately, I soon felt better and after a few hours' rest, I returned to the meerkat-themed restaurant for a supper of seabass in sauce.

Tomorrow? I have many plans. Fine-weather and Wet-weather. We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.