Out and About

By LeslieBigos

Red Lipstick Lady

My friend Caroline and I meet up for lunch every few months. We always share a few laughs and a nice glass of wine and just get caught up with each other's lives. In between these visits, we don't talk much but the conversation always starts up quickly.

There is an iconic beauty about Caroline. She has this flawless smooth alabaster skin and high cheekbones. She is never with out her red lipstick and at the end of every lunch, she pulls out her tube (or in this case, it was a stick) and freshens up her face.

I love watching Caroline put on her lipstick. It might be a throwback to watching my mother get dressed for a party when I was about five. I rarely wear lipstick myself and, when I do, I feel like I'm a little kid dressing up.

Caroline, however, was born to wear lipstick. Caroline is in the same mold as Marilyn Monroe, Jean Harlow and Veronica Lake from the 30's and the 40's and not like the women who don the red today, Madonna or Scarlett Johansson.

I know my family would laugh if I put on red lipstick but on Caroline, it is just right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.