Out and About

By LeslieBigos

Boys and their man toys

My son, Patrick, loves to work with tools. Tonight, he decided to knock-off a couple of daggers like he had seen in Star Trek. We are hoping that his love of building things and working with tools will make him a successful airplane mechanic when he starts a program in the fall. We're hoping he's Boeing-bound.

Patrick is blessed to have a a great friend since kindergarten in Joe. Joe is such a kind person and he seemingly cheerfully listens to most of Pat's rants. With Patrick, you never know what irreverent thing is going to come out of his mouth.

Pat and Joe have lately gone foraging. I cringe sometimes at the junk Pat brings home after he and Joe have wandered the Goodwill thrift store or gone to a garage sale. "No more spending money on junk!"

It always heartens me that Joe will drive into Seattle so that the two can get some Ezell's fried chicken or some other tasty treat.

I am anxious for Pat to grow into a man but when I look at this picture, I just see a little boy playing with toys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.