Granny Smith?

I bought three lovely cooking apples when I was at the Farm Shop yesterday. I had peeled two of them before I thought they would have made a good blip, so I photographed the remaining one. They cooked beautifully and we enjoyed them at lunch time.
They were sold to me as Granny Smiths, but I believe these are usually completely green, so these are probably a different variety. Hence the question mark in my title.
As I peeled them I wondered about Granny Smith, and imagined a white haired, rosy cheeked Worcestershire granny. But when I researched her, I found that these apples originated in New South Wales, Australia in 1868. The apple was named after Maria Ann Smith who propagated it from a chance seedling. She had eight children and earned the nickname Granny Smith in her advanced years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.