Gifts from afar

This is an average blip (and emergency blip actually) but the taste of Passionfruit if far from average.

Passionfruit are a sub-tropical fruit. My parents grow them just north of Auckland and they're definitely a fruit I miss. They have generously brought some south with them. To buy these guys in Christchurch ranges around NZ$14 - NZ$20 per kilo.

If you don't know about Passionfruit they grow on a vine and have distinct purple skins. Slice them in half, grab a spoon and eat - yum! Or you can scoop the pulp out, add it fruit salad, yogurt etc. It freezes well and in the middle of winter the pulp is sensational with stewed apple or ice cream etc. Makes you almost believe you're somewhere 20 - 35 degrees warmer than where you are!

I forgot my bike lock key today so had to take my bike in the lift to the 7th floor of the library and 'hide' it in my office. Negotiating an empty lift at 7.30 am isn't a problem but I'm sure I broke 19 (or possibly 27) rules ;-)

Never mind, breaking a few rules is fine by me. ("Bike, wot bike Mr Security?"). Amazingly I didn't have to share the lift with anyone leaving the building either which had the potential to be interesting. I was tempted to ride it down the corridor to my only meeting of the day but I restrained myself ;-)

I have tomorrow off as it's Dad's birthday. We live at opposite ends of the country so it doesn't happen very often. We'll have a fun day together, including going out for lunch. I feel another portrait coming on :-)

Thank you all for your generous comments. I'll try to reply as time allows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.