Beginnings of a Smile?

33 days old
Today has been quite busy in a relaxed sort of way.  Euan played and bathed early morning then he was pushed around a lake in his stroller by Grandad whilst Becky and I visited a Montessori Day Care Centre.  We came out with a very favourable view of the care.  The children all seemed happy and there was a good ratio of staff to children, lots of engagement going on and a smashing environment. 

After lunch and Euan's feed, we walked out in to Salem and toured the shops to pick up some doorknobs and a witchery hat for me for tomorrow.  There were some rather fabulous but extremely expensive hats and I was just giving up hope as we headed homewards when we passed an odd looking shop that appeared to have some in the window.  I went in to ask about the one I liked the look of and the woman who served me asked if I was Scottish.  When I explained I was from northern England, Yorkshire to be precise, her face lit up and she told me she had done some student teaching in a junior school in Bradford.  When I told her that I was born in Bradford and taught there for 35 years, we both went in to spooky mode.  Long story short, I have a date with Julie back in the shop next Wednesday!  I'll have to get a contact address from her and send her something from Bradford when we return home.  Becky and Tony wondered where I had got to by the time I emerged from the shop, with my witchery hat!

I also had a fun encounter in the Post Office when the guy behind the counter mimicked my 'lovely' with a Dick Van Dyke, Mary Poppins version 'laverlee'.  I pointed out that his was a southern accent and mine was a northern one and he was in deep water!  I love these encounters.  We parted agreeing that we both liked Harry and Megan!

My blip today is of Euan having his hair dried after his bath.  We are all in agreement that this is the beginnings of a smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.