KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Last Day in Portugal

My sister and I are currently checked into an airport hotel in Lisbon - our flight leaves at 5:30 am tomorrow so we’ll be getting up at 3:00 am...hoping for sleep on the plane.

We left Tres Maria’s in SW Portugal this morning - it was VERY damp and foggy...so much so that it felt like a heavy mist was falling - well it was actually!

Being so enamored of plants of course I had to capture a few more which are pictured in the extras. The first is Cape Honeysuckle (Tecoma capensis) a lovely vine dripping with fog. The next is a Strawberry Tree (Arbutus unedo) of which there are many in the region. We can grow those in Portland...and the fruit is edible. Finally, I think the purple flower is Polygala fruticosa, of which I couldn’t find much information. But it’s a lovely flower!

Back to Portland late tomorrow afternoon...not quite sure what blip I’ll find during 18 hours of travel beginning and ending in the dark! It might be of an airport :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.