The Ghostly Effect

A very jonah day at work, the less said about it the better...ended up in tears :(


Then home early to my lovely girl, who despite being given the chance didn't want to go out in the daylight...so now she and I are upstairs with all the lights off downstairs, so we don't get any callers...  She's lying asleep on the bed and I'm eating my dinner and blipping :)


I thought I'd look up the original history of Halloween as I don't really know it.  History.Com has this to say:


The tradition originated with the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain, when people would light bonfires and wear costumes to ward off ghosts. In the eighth century, Pope Gregory III designated November 1 as a time to honor all saints. Soon, All Saints Day incorporated some of the traditions of Samhain.


As far as I knew - I thought all this originated in the USA - but its only the modern version with all the pumpkins etc that did...


A mine of useless information I know!

Thank goodness there's only one more day to the working week..can't wait for the weekend now!

Happy Thursday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.