Making Progress

Mum and Dad met with myself and Elaine. It went well. I think we’ve a way forward on a number of fronts. Living independently at home is important for them, but they do need (and have to accept) more support. They are after all over 99 and 93 years old.

The blip - half of which is legitimately abstract - is one of the four sides of the town centre clock tower. I have always liked these 1950’s tiles, depicting in graphical terms my home town. I think they must have had a subliminal impact on me early on in life.

The town centre is looking down at heel these days. But when Queen Elisabeth II opened “ Queensway” six years into her reign (at a time I was at infants school) this was the first pedestrianised precinct in the country, a precursor of many more. The thinking was right, but retail change and the online revolution, as well as the government selling the centre off to “investors” who haven’t invested, has meant the town has struggled.

To underline that point - an extra. The Waitrose on the old town high street has closed, along with the post office. Parking to return lots of out of date tablets to the pharmacy, I noticed people and lorries, the food store was being emptied of all its fittings. A really sad sight. It had been here since the 1970’s, a really good store. Bigger ones in nearby (and more affluent) Hitchin and Welwyn GC are available, the company is having to adapt to survive I guess.

Returned home after lunch. I am working tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.