Thank you

Thank you for rejoicing in my good news. It is, like all news, temporary, but it is a joy to receive and live into. If every one of these Ginko leaves were a thank you, it would still not be enough. I quit trying to say thank you to your comments and just took them all in, filled with more gratitude than even a Ginko tree can hold. 

Many events and concerns have interrupted my reading of The Overstory, but I have returned to it now. I care about these characters in a world in which property and mastery are all that counts. "Earth will be monetized until all trees grow in staight lines, three people own all seven continents, and every large organism is bred to be slaughtered" (348). All the characters are rebels, and I keep turning pages in hopes they will subvert that world.

Then I look at your comments on my good news, and I see. We have subverted that world in this small and caring online community. Whatever happens, I'm glad for trees in all our lives, and I'm glad we're cognizant that each of us is merely a blip on the screen, and we root for each other (no pun intended) as we make our small barbaric yawp before we disappear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.