The Gift of Giving

Tonight was my streets Hospice dinner.  It is pot luck and held at Pete and Barbara's lovely home.  Everyone makes a donation and there are raffles.  I made a calendar for a raffle prize using scenes from the street and the hill behind our houses.  Many have been blips.  I won a container of Ann's fabulous shortbread.  My blip is Barbara and Pete with a framed letter from the local Hospice.  Barbara started the dinners 17 years ago and has raised $16,000 to give to our Hospice.  The takings from tonight have not been added up.  Barbara has decided this is her last year of organising the dinner.  Perhaps with the increasing frailty of Pete she is looking forward to next year and thinking they may not be in there own home.  This is pure speculation on my part.  The younger members of the street will have to step up.  My neighbour Fred is 93 and still riding his electric bike.  I must blip him one day.  Barbara is still playing golf.   Fred organises the Melbourne Cup sweep and we gather at his place to watch the race wearing our fascinators of course.  
The hot weather has not arrived yet maybe tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.