Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Moss and Lichen: touch, sight and feel

I'm doing "30 Days of Perception" with a group of people. We get a thought each day and I always find that very interesting and sometimes challenging. Today, it's "Perception is embodied". That sounds rather abstract, but it's all about the senses. I have chosen: Touch. but it also includes sight and feel.

As I was walking downtown this afternoon, I passed by some trees with beautiful lichen and moss and stopped to look at the different textures and feel them too. There was the hard trunk of the tree, the slightly bumpy white and pale green lichen and two different kinds of moss. One was a fluffy and tickly and the other was soft and spongy like a little pillow.  One could also include the sense of feeling. I could feel a slight breeze against my face and from time to time, little drops from the wet leaves above dropped onto me because of the breeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.