TrishaR

By TrishaR

Presentation Day

Taken by surprise this morning as I walked the corridors to the Corporate Suite. I saw some old pics of me on the glass of the double doors into the floor. Ah I though, a wee taster for tomorrow (my official last day). But no, a desk was decorated with balloons and sparkles and there were pictures of me from every decade of my life - which seemed like me life in hairstyles LOL!

What panicked me the most was the fact that I had no speech ready as it seemed my presentation was taking place at 1030. I grabbed a notebook and headed to the canteen and wrote words off the top of my head, thoughts that I had actually been thinking of .

When the time came it was done by Liz our General Counsel from Reading office and then Stuart my manager who have known since he started in 2002. His was funny when he handed me a picture In a frame of BoJo but had been persuaded by a couple of others NOT to buy me a years subscription to the Tory part! A couple of others said that was a step too far (insert sickness emoji). I did give an expletive when I turned over the pic and saw that ugly pig eyed face HAHA.

I stood up and gave my speech which was the first time I had spoken in front of so many people. But what made it ok was everyone was smiling and it made it seem I was chatting to friends. I talked at the end of how when my cousin who is 60 had a stroke in July was the turning point after deliberating it for most of this year.

I only got a wobble near the end where I talked about how work has helped me through some sad moments in my life but was there too celebrating the good stuff with people I enjoyed working with. No tears just a wobbly voice.

It seemed to go down well and I was really taken aback to receive such lovely gifts which was a necklace and matching bracelet from Tiffany. Tattiginger champagne and the most beautiful bunch of flowers.

I felt so special being made a fuss of.

Will sure miss the people, the everyday social interaction but my decision to leave now was the right one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.