Wayside Restaurant

Today, drove 198 km. to the north, to Almelo, to visit one of the interns under my 'guidance', in semi-quotation marks because I hardly do anything with them.  First did some work in the morning and then left at 11.45 as the appointment was at 14.00.  The trip took two hours.

She's from Bulgaria and her supervisor is from Argentina.  The company is Dutch but has a lot of international clients.  It appears that she's delivering excellent work, and her superiors have nothing but praise.  She's terribly organized, knows where she's going to do her minor and wants to do her thesis with the same company, and they've already agreed.  It's at times like this that I especially see the value of an international environment.  She's working in the Mergers and Acquisitions Department, with a bit of Marketing and loads of Research.  I am not a business-oriented person (long story and never mind) but people like her are quite inspiring.

On the way back, which was obviously another 198 km., stopped by La Place and had a bowl of pumpkin soup, then bought two sandwiches, one with herb cheese for myself and one with ham and brie for AW, as well as a bottle of green tea.  It was good that I bought something as the trip now took three hours due to traffic.  I used to eat a lot at La Place but they have less outlets now and there's no time to go out of my way just to patronize them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.