Coot feet

We took another trip to Pensthorpe today.  It was drizzly at times, but we had a lovely walk round and saw lots of birds.  This photo was one of the first I took - there are coots and moorhens all over the place at Pensthorpe.  I've always been aware of the very large feet on the coots, but never taken the time to really study them.

We were also lucky enough to see a woodpecker (female) and a nuthatch on the bird feeders in the woodland area.  And we spent some considerable time puzzling over a juvenile cormorant.  I couldn't work out what this large black bird with a white breast standing on a sandbank was.   It was only after it "hung its wings out to dry" in a typical cormorant fashion (but cormorants are all black, aren't they?), and I Googled it, to discover that as a juvenile, it has a pale breast.

We finished off the day with a trip to Zaks, and I enjoyed a "meat fest", whilst W had a nut burger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.