Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Words of Wisdom

It’s a very strange world for me at the moment.  A world that is impossible to explain.  What I do know is that I have wonderful friends and family who are keeping an eye on me and that gives me comfort.  

I want to share with you some more Words of Wisdom from our great friend John Lizzio.  I believe this section of John’s Eulogy will give you further incite into my darling Catherine.

“Catherine was a born teacher. She taught by word and example. She lived what she taught. She trained with conviction to such an extent that participants really believed and were touched by the fact that she believed in the skills, abilities, attributes and virtues that she taught and lived.

 We have all been privileged to  have learnt something from Catherine.
Two things stand out for me.
 Catherine never said No. If someone asked her a question, whether it was “Can you play the guitar, have you been to China, even Are you John’s wife? Catherine would immediately reply NOT YET!

Catherine had a wonderful and endearing openness to life with all its possibilities. Her ‘Not Yet’ was her saying she had not experienced everything - AND she was open to the possibility, All except the John’s wife “Not Yet” - that was her automatic ‘not Yet.’ 

The second learning that I have never forgotten was her “For What Purpose!”
After I love you I think that those 3 words are the most important in the English language.


Catherine and I trained together for many, many years. It was an honour and a Privilege to see her in action. She had no ego. She was as comfortable with Farmer and Harvester Driver In Tully as  she was with Miners in the Hunter Valley, ASIC in Melbourne, The Taxation Department In Albury, or ICAC or Zurich Insurance in Sydney,
Whatever we were going to present, in the preparation of manuals, at every step was Catherine’s perennial question ”For What Purpose” do you want to put that in the manual?


Nothing focuses the mind and brain and thinking faster that the question “For what Purpose” If all you remember of Catherine’s ‘not yet’ and ‘for what purpose’ you will have a joyful and meaningful life.


There is a quote from John Henry Newman that I believe describes both Catherine and her life’s work.” To live is to Change, and to change often is to become more perfect” Catherine wanted to leave each person and ultimately the world a better place”.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,John Lizzio

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.