Roe deer in the morning sun

This morning I came out of the house and walked round the house to the cellar. As I got to the door I saw a movement in the field and there were these two. They seemed unusually unafraid and for a minute or so we watched each other (and I took this picture) and then they put their heads down and carried on grazing, slowly moving up the slope and then out of sight behind some trees.
I do feel grateful we live somewhere we can see beautiful creatures, such as this roe deer and her daughter.
They are feeding up for the winter which seems to have arrived. I checked our ten-day weather forecast and the temperature may creep above freezing on one afternoon, otherwise it's minus degrees all the way.
I took a walk this afternoon down to the beaver stream and slid over on ice when I was busy looking up at a huge flock of jackdaws in a tree, and I walked onto a thick patch of ice that usually is a muddy path! Only my dignity was injured and since no-one saw me fall even that was minimal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.