BJH

By BJH

Showing some colour

This is not the blip that I had planned for today. I took several close up shots at the park this afternoon of some pink flowers that were barely noticeable until you got really close to them but I wasn't happy with any of those shots when I looked at them on the laptop screen and deleted all of them. Fortunately I'd also taken two photos of these yellow flowers that have just started to open up and show some colour. I knew the name of this shrub in Flemish but not in English so I had look it up. Apparently this is a Hollyleaved Barberry.

I had a bit of an incident during my walk with the sanctuary's female Rottweiler Loïka this afternoon. I was sitting on my knees to take a photo of her when she suddenly pulled me over at the sight of two dogs behind me. Fortunately I was able to control her enough until the man who was walking the other dogs had gone. The only damage done was a pair of muddy knees, a slightly muddy camera and a somewhat sore left wrist.
Most of the time Loïka is fine when she sees other dogs but just every now and then she gets a bee in her bonnet and wants to go after them. I can only blame myself though for what happened as I know what she's like and I should have stayed more alert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.