Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Terrence and his thousand-watt smile

It was a fragmented, somewhat frustrating day. Errands, a haircut, shopping, a difficult conversation on Facebook (someone else is attacking Aimee Sitarz with outright lies), and I completely missed a meeting I had promised to attend. 

Dusk was falling, and I was walking quickly, feeling irritable, trying to get to another appointment on time when I saw dimly that someone inside a car was waving. I looked behind me. No one. Were they waving at me? I slowed down enough to recognize Terrence just as he parked the car. His wife waved, their baby waved from the back seat, and Terrence leapt out of the car and gave me a wonderful hearty hug, instantly transforming how I felt about the whole day. I'm still basking in the warmth of his hug.

He was arriving at Donna's apartment (I hadn't even consciously realized I was walking past it) to collect Donna and take her to a live radio interview about the "Oregon DA for the People" forum on October 27. Two hours later I listened to Terrence and Donna live on the radio. They were funny, wise, well-informed, and tender.  I'm still smiling back at Terrence.

It's a half-hour radio interview, and I'm linking to it, in case I want to refer to it later. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.